

West Virginia Developmental Disabilities Council 110 Stockton Street Charleston, West Virginia 25387

Office: (304) 558-0416

March 12, 2025

Commissioner Cynthia Beane WVDH - Bureau for Medical Services 350 Capitol Street, Room 251 Charleston, West Virginia 25301

RE: I/DD Waiver Renewal Application Comments

[Delivered via email to iddwcomment@wv.gov]

Dear Commissioner Beane:

The WV Developmental Disabilities Council is a 32-member organization consisting of citizens with developmental disabilities, family members, and representatives from State and private organizations concerned with the provision of services to people with developmental disabilities. Over 60% of the membership are citizens who are appointed by the Governor.

The mission of the Council is to assure that West Virginians with developmental disabilities receive the services, support, and other forms of assistance needed to achieve independence, productivity, integration, and inclusion in the community. One of the ways the Council carries out its mission is to provide information to policymakers on issues that may affect people with developmental disabilities.

Thank you for the opportunity to comment on the Application to renew the I/DD Waiver. This Waiver is essential to support people with developmental disabilities in their home and community. The federal government offers this waiver option to eliminate and/or prevent institutionalization. It is critical to meeting the State's obligation under Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) to provide services in the most integrated setting in the community as upheld by the U.S. Supreme Court decision in *Olmstead v. L.C., et al.*

Below are comments to assist the Bureau in submitting a waiver application to best meet the needs of people with developmental disabilities to be supported in a person-centered manner to live, work, socialize and thrive in their home and community. If you have any questions, please contact me at (304) 558-0418 or tina.e.wiseman@wv.gov.

Sincerely,

Tina E. Wiseman Executive Director

cc: Jessica Sykes, Chair